Message from the OSDI '24 Program Co-Chairs

Dear Colleagues,

Welcome to the 18th USENIX Symposium on Operating Systems Design and Implementation (OSDI '24).

We are pleased that, once again, OSDI is co-located with the USENIX Annual Technical Conference (USENIX ATC '24). The two conferences combined are publishing a wide array of exciting papers representing some of the most innovative work in the systems research community. We hope you come away from OSDI and USENIX ATC with new colleagues, new friends, and new ideas.

This year, OSDI received 272 submissions. We accepted 49 submissions, which is an 18% acceptance rate. In addition to the papers accepted this year, 4 additional papers were accepted from the OSDI '23 Revise and Resubmit process. This brings the total program to 53 papers being published in the OSDI proceedings. We continue to be committed to a single-track conference at OSDI, and we have put together a 3-day program in which all papers are being presented in the same room so attendees can watch every single talk if they so desire.

To deal with the number and technical breadth of the OSDI submissions, we assembled a program committee of 95 members not counting us, the Program Co-Chairs. Reviewing papers is a time-consuming task that requires high judgment, and we are grateful to the program committee for their diligence, professionalism, and cooperation during the review process. We are proud that OSDI is known for high quality reviews that help authors to produce their very best work and present it clearly to our community.

The program committee reviewed submissions in two rounds. Every paper received at least three reviews in the first round. Select papers then received 2 or 3 additional reviews in the second round. The accepted papers were chosen based on an online discussion phase and a two-day PC meeting. The committee completed more than 1,000 reviews and posted hundreds of comments as part of the online discussion process. Each accepted paper was assigned a shepherd to work with the authors to revise the paper in response to reviewer feedback.

OSDI '24 had an artifact-evaluation committee, shared with USENIX ATC '24, that organized and evaluated the artifacts submitted by authors. The committee co-chairs this year were Jianyu Jiang, Ji Qi, and Cesar A. Stuardo. The committee made one recommendation for a Distinguished Artifact Award.

OSDI '24 had a poster submission process that was run by Aishwarya Ganesan and Amy Ousterhout, who graciously took on this task in addition to serving on the PC. They accepted 52 posters for display at the OSDI poster session, representing a mix of posters from papers presented at the conference as well as other work.

Once the accepted papers were decided, we began the process of deciding on the Jay Lepreau Best Paper Awards. A small committee of non-conflicted PC members read all of the top-ranked papers and agreed on the award recommendation.

As PC chairs, we are grateful to so many dedicated volunteers and professional staff whose efforts have made this conference a reality. We thank the authors who submitted such high-quality work. This conference is first and foremost a forum for disseminating, sharing, discussing, and debating world-class systems research. Thank you for your hard work and innovation! We thank the PC members and external reviewers for their significant investment of time, energy, and insight into shaping the program. We thank Vaibhav Bhosale and Vishal Suresh Rao, who helped us during the PC meeting and made sure we ran the technology and not the other way around. We especially thank the USENIX staff who have made chairing a conference like this one a well-oiled machine! Finally, we thank you for coming to this conference to engage with each other and with the authors of the accepted papers.

We are honored to have served as the OSDI '24 Program Co-Chairs. Thank you for entrusting us with this important role. We hope that you enjoy the conference!

Ada Gavrilovska, *Georgia Institute of Technology* Doug Terry, *Amazon Web Services* OSDI '24 Program Co-Chairs